What we do
Step Back in Time
Pype Hayes is located east of Erdington, around two miles away from Pype. The name Pype has 3 potential origins. It was either named after the Manor of Pype of which it was once part, or after a pipa – water channel – that at that time ran through the estate. But most probably the name comes from a major landowner called Henry de Pipe. The Grade-II listed Pype Hayes Hall was built in 1603 and was later purchased by industrialist James Rollason. Birmingham City Council bought it soon after when the grounds were given over for the public’s use and the house turned into a home for convalescing. The area proved to be good ground for sand and gravel mining. Evidence of this activity remains in Pype Hayes Park today.